Which cities?

Curious about which cities are candidates to be the next Belgian European Capital of Culture in 2030? The candidate cities will be later announced.

Dive into the past and discover the European Capitals of Culture of recent years. On this page, you'll find all the previous ECOCs. On the cultureNEXT website, you can access an archive containing all the bidbooks from past candidate cities and titleholders. 

Previous European Capitals of Culture

Timisoara, Romania (2023)

Veszprem-Balaton, Hungary (2023)

Elefsina, Greece (2023)

Esch-sur-Alzette, Luxembourg (2022)

Kaunas, Lithuania (2022)

Novi Sad, Serbia (2022)

Galway, Ireland (2020/2021)

Rijeka, Croatia (2020/2021)

Plovdiv, Bulgaria (2019)

Matera, Italy (2019)

Leeuwarden, The Netherlands (2018)

Valletta, Malta (2018)

Aarhus, Denmark (2017)

Pafos, Cyprus (2017)

Donostia-San Sebastian, Spain (2016)

Wroclaw, Poland (2016)

Pilsen, Czech Republic (2015)

Mons, Belgium (2015)

Questions about the candidacy?

Are you a candidate city? In that case, read all the information and documents you need to properly prepare your application.